The latest release of Sitefinity 3.0 also has an option to undo check out of the page, i.e. you can Cancel Changes. Even more, if you have switched on the page history in your project , you can rollback not only to the penultimate version but also to any previous one.
If you close the browser while editing a page, the page stays locked, but you can return to edit it later. The other non-admin-users cannot edit the locked page. The administrators also cannot edit the locked page, but they have the options to Save or Cancel changes you have made on the page and unlock it.
As for your last problem, you can set the appropriate permissions for different roles, for example:
editors - view, create, modify
approvers - view, delete, approve, publish
Here are the descriptions of page permissions:
- View allows you to view draft and published pages (This permission should always be set to Allow).
- Create allows you to create new pages.
- Modify allows you to edit pages, but not page properties.
- Delete allows you to delete pages.
- ChangePermissions allows you to change rights granted to users.
- ChangeProperties allows you to edit page properties.
- Approve allows you to approve or decline page modifications.
- Publish allows you to publish pages.
- ModifyLayout allows you to change page Template and Theme. Modify must also be granted.
I think you could achieve the intended behavior by setting the appropriate permissions for some users.
I hope this will help. Please let us know if we are missing something.
All the best,