+1-888-365-2779
Try Now
More in this section

Forums / Bugs & Issues / Serious problem: Unpublish or Set to Redirect a page deletes its content and revision history!

Serious problem: Unpublish or Set to Redirect a page deletes its content and revision history!

3 posts, 0 answered
  1. Jacques
    Jacques avatar
    427 posts
    Registered:
    28 Jun 2007
    14 Sep 2012
    Link to this post
    We just tested the following scenario:

    1. Create a page and add content
    2. Publish it
    3. Revision history shows correctly
    4. Unpublish and set page to redirect to other page
    5. Revision history and page content are deleted permanently.

    This is probably by design, but it has some serious consequences:
    1. There's no warning to say that by changing this page to a redirect page, you'll lose its content as well as all revision history
    2. There's absolutely no way to recover from this

    ?

    Regards,
    Jacques
  2. Stos
    Stos avatar
    9 posts
    Registered:
    26 Jul 2012
    05 Feb in reply to Jacques
    Link to this post
    I've just encountered the same thing, some 3+ years later. Really terrible way to treat the content of the page. If there's content, it should be preserved at least in the revision history. Nothing like recreating pages!
  3. Sabrie Nedzhip
    Sabrie Nedzhip avatar
    534 posts
    Registered:
    02 Dec 2016
    09 Feb
    Link to this post
    Hello,

    Please refer to the below KB article for more details on this:

    http://www.sitefinity.com/developer-network/knowledge-base/details/restore-page-content-and-revision-history-when-switching-a-standard-page-to-a-redirect-page-and-then-convert-it-back-to-a-standard-page

    Regards,
    Sabrie Nedzhip
    Telerik
     
    Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Sitefinity CMS Ideas&Feedback Portal and vote to affect the priority of the items
     
3 posts, 0 answered