Currently this is not possible. The custom field will appear for editing after the item has been uploaded and is opened for editing, then it will be required and the item cannot be published again until it is filled.
I apologize for the inconvenience.
the Telerik team
Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking
system and vote to affect the priority of the items