In general, when you click the "remember me" - i.e. the checkbox is clicked
you are to be remembered as long as your cookies are present (until you delete them). This means that you should remain logged in after browser restarts. If it is unchecked
this means that the moment your session ends (either browser close or due to inactivity) your cookie is deleted and you are no longer logged in.
There are settings in the backend that control this behavior and you can modify them to suit best your scenario. By going to Administration -> Settings -> Advanced -> Security you can see the settings "BackendUsersSessionTimeout
" and "AuthCookieIsPersistent
". The first controls how long the cookie will keep the person logged in the backend and the second makes cookie persist through session no matter of the checkbox's state. However, it should be noted that Sitefinity has no control
over how browser manages cookies. This means that Sitefinity only tells the browser to set or unset a cookie. What the browser does after that is beyond Sitefinity's control. This is why before jumping on conclusion you should always test the behavior on different browsers and/or different machines.
Furthermore, it has been noted that in some very rare cases the ISP has a very aggressive caching strategy and interferes with the cookie duration. This is why it is also recommended to test this on different networks as well.
Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Sitefinity CMS Ideas&Feedback Portal
and vote to affect the priority of the items