+1-888-365-2779
Try Now
More in this section

Forums / General Discussions / Upgrade Sitefinity via Merge

Upgrade Sitefinity via Merge

4 posts, 0 answered
  1. Jared
    Jared avatar
    122 posts
    Registered:
    04 Apr 2013
    11 Sep 2015
    Link to this post

    http://docs.sitefinity.com/upgrade

    At the link above in step 3, bullet point 2 it states the following:

    Merge your live website with the upgraded one. 
    If you want to merge the locally upgraded website with the production website without replacing the database, perform the following:
    Package the upgraded website without the configuration files from ~/App_Data/Sitefinity/Configuration. Do not include the locally upgraded database.

     

    Are all files to not be included?  I would think that the dataconfig.config file would be needed since that includes the connection to the DB.  Anyone perform an upgrade via a merge that could answer this?

  2. Stanislav Velikov
    Stanislav Velikov avatar
    1113 posts
    Registered:
    22 Sep 2016
    16 Sep 2015
    Link to this post
    Hi,

    Are all files to not be included?
    Include only the files for the site without the configuration files for Sitefintiy located at ~/App_Data/Sitefinity/Configuration. This is because a Sitefinity upgrade replaces the assemblies that the site uses and makes updates to web.config. With updated assemblies and web.config once the site is started the upgrade process executes and updates the database and configuration files in ~/App_Data/Sitefinity/Configuration and this is the reason configuration files must be from the non-upgraded version of the site.

    DataConfig.config and also all other configs remain the same since it is a production site which is running and gets merged with an upgraded copy of the site files that contain new assemblies.

    Regards,
    Stanislav Velikov
    Telerik
     
    Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Sitefinity CMS Ideas&Feedback Portal and vote to affect the priority of the items
     
  3. Jared
    Jared avatar
    122 posts
    Registered:
    04 Apr 2013
    16 Sep 2015
    Link to this post
    I have the project setup to store the configurations in the database, so when that happens the files become read-only.  With that said, how is the update process different when site is set to store configuration in the DB?  I have been unable to complete a successful merge with the upgraded solution.
  4. Stanislav Velikov
    Stanislav Velikov avatar
    1113 posts
    Registered:
    22 Sep 2016
    22 Sep 2015
    Link to this post
    Hello,

    When the configuration files are in the database then the configurations that are stored in the file system are not updated or affected by the upgrade since those files in the file system are a fallback version(read-only) of the configurations in the database. There will not be no change in the upgrade process when the configs are stored in the database.

    Is it possible to move the upgraded site files from the development environment to live and connect then to the non-upgraded site database (creating a backup first) which will upgrade the database and the configuration files in it.

    Regards,
    Stanislav Velikov
    Telerik
     
    Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Sitefinity CMS Ideas&Feedback Portal and vote to affect the priority of the items
     
4 posts, 0 answered