Hello Markus ,
When the workflow is not configured, nobody gets notification by default. You should set roles and users that you want to notify. The workflow xaml could be modifies so you can define which uses will receive a notification.
All the best,
the Telerik team
Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking
system and vote to affect the priority of the items