+1-888-365-2779
Try Now
More in this section

Forums / Set-up & Installation / Default Sitefinity Install Pages Shown on Upgrade

Default Sitefinity Install Pages Shown on Upgrade

4 posts, 1 answered
  1. Kevin
    Kevin avatar
    42 posts
    Registered:
    15 Mar 2005
    10 Jul 2009
    Link to this post

    I wanted to clean up my solution and start from scratch with the latest release before going into production, so I download the 3.6 SP2 solution, added my own files into it (App_Code, ~/Custom, and of course the master pages + theme), and compared and modified the web.config files accordingly.

    The solution builds fine, but every time I try to run it I go to the default Sitefinity web installation pages (where I enter the DB information, etc.).  Is there some sort of flag I need to set to indicate that I've already installed Sitefinity?  I'm providing the appropriate connection strings in the web.config, for reference sake, and the database of course exists.

    Is there some way to skip the installation process and use an existing DB/configuration?

    Kevin.

  2. Ivan Dimitrov
    Ivan Dimitrov avatar
    16072 posts
    Registered:
    09 Dec 2016
    10 Jul 2009
    Link to this post
    Hello Kevin,

    You can try changing the disabled property of the cms node in your web.config as below:

    <cms defaultProvider="Sitefinity" pageExtension=".aspx" disabled="false" pageEditorUIMode="Overlay"

    This should skip Sitefinity's StartupWizard.

    Best wishes,
    Ivan Dimitrov
    the Telerik team

    Instantly find answers to your questions on the new Telerik Support Portal.
    Check out the tips for optimizing your support resource searches.
    Answered
  3. Kevin
    Kevin avatar
    42 posts
    Registered:
    15 Mar 2005
    10 Jul 2009
    Link to this post
    That did it, thanks.  It isn't something that obviously jumps right out at you. :-)
  4. Ivan Dimitrov
    Ivan Dimitrov avatar
    16072 posts
    Registered:
    09 Dec 2016
    12 Jul 2009
    Link to this post
    Hi Kevin,

    Once the project is installed the value should be changed to false. Attaching an existing database with data will not be corrupted even with property set to true.

    Sincerely yours,
    Ivan Dimitrov
    the Telerik team

    Instantly find answers to your questions on the new Telerik Support Portal.
    Check out the tips for optimizing your support resource searches.
Register for webinar
4 posts, 1 answered