We confirm that this is possible.
The Sitefinity installer creates different program groups for every version, that said, Sitefinity 3.5 and 3.6 will be installed in different directories. You will have shortcuts in the Start menu to both versions.
Please note that if two projects are connected to one database, they should both be the same version.
Let me know if you have any further questions.
the Telerik team