+1-888-365-2779
Try Now
More in this section

Forums / Set-up & Installation / Permissions issue--editor can publish, but shouldn't.

Permissions issue--editor can publish, but shouldn't.

5 posts, 0 answered
  1. michael
    michael avatar
    15 posts
    Registered:
    22 Jan 2009
    20 Feb 2009
    Link to this post
    Hi everyone.

    I made a user "test" and put that user in a new role "Editors." 

    In Administration > Permissions, "Editors" has the following:

    Manage users Manage permissions Manage files Edit templates CmsAccess

    In Modules > Generic Content > Permissions, "Editors" has the following:

    View Create Modify Delete Change Permissions

    In Pages > Site Map > All Pages > Permissions, "Editors" has the following:

    View Create Modify Delete / Rollback Change Permissions Change Properties Approve Publish Modify Layout

    But, with everything set like that, the user in the "Editors" role (and that's the only role the user is in) can still publish changes to a generic content element on a page.

    What am I doing wrong? We're using SF 3.6.

    Thanks, 

    Mike
  2. michael
    michael avatar
    15 posts
    Registered:
    22 Jan 2009
    20 Feb 2009
    Link to this post
    Wow that got screwed up. Let me try to write in the permissions again:

    Administration > Permissions
    Manage users Nothing Checked
    Manage permissions Nothing Checked
    Manage files Nothing Checked
    Edit templates Allow
    CmsAccess Allow

    Modules > Generic Content > Permissions
    View Allow
    Create Nothing Checked
    Modify Allow
    Delete Nothing Checked
    Change Permissions  Nothing Checked

    Pages > Site Map > All Pages > Permissions
    View Allow
    Create Deny
    Modify Allow
    Delete / Rollback Deny
    Change Permissions Deny
    Change Properties Deny
    Approve Allow Deny
    Publish Allow Deny
    Modify Layout Deny
  3. Nikolai
    Nikolai avatar
    216 posts
    Registered:
    21 Nov 2016
    23 Feb 2009
    Link to this post
    Hi michael,

    If the Workflow is NOT set to "ON" and the user test has Modify Permissions, he will be able to Publish directly, and to modify any change he made on the page. You need to set the Workflow  to "ON" in order to have Save/Send for Approval/Publish steps before the actual Publishing of the page.

    Hope this helps. If this is not your case, please write us back.

    Greetings,
    Nikolai
    the Telerik team

    Instantly find answers to your questions on the new Telerik Support Portal.
    Check out the tips for optimizing your support resource searches.
  4. michael
    michael avatar
    15 posts
    Registered:
    22 Jan 2009
    23 Feb 2009
    Link to this post
    Good to know--could you tell me how I do that? I couldn't find that setting anywhere in the admin console.
  5. Ivan Dimitrov
    Ivan Dimitrov avatar
    16072 posts
    Registered:
    25 Nov 2016
    23 Feb 2009
    Link to this post
    Hello michael,

    You can enable the workflow for pages from the web.config section below:

    <add connectionStringName="DefaultConnection" allowPageHistory="true" 
              allowPageWorkflow="false" cachingProviderName="ASPNET" name="Sitefinity" 
              type="Telerik.Cms.Data.DefaultProvider, Telerik.Cms.Data" /> 

    The property allowPageWorkflow is of bool type, so you can set true or false values. Let us know if there is anything else that we can do for you.

    Sincerely yours,
    Ivan Dimitrov
    the Telerik team

    Instantly find answers to your questions on the new Telerik Support Portal.
    Check out the tips for optimizing your support resource searches.
Register for webinar
5 posts, 0 answered