Editing content blocks

Editing the content of a content block

  1. Go to the Content blocks shared across pages page and open a content block for editing in one of the following ways:
    • Click the content block you want to edit.
    • Click the Actions link of the respective content block.
      From the dropdown list, click Content.
    • The Edit a content block page appears.
  2. Perform procedure Creating a content block » Step 3 to Step 4.
  3. When you are finished, click Save changes.

Deleting a content block

You can delete a content block in the following ways:

  • On Content blocks shared across page, select one or more content blocks and click Delete button in the toolbar.
  • On Content blocks shared across page, click the Actions link of the respective content block.
    From the dropdown list, click Delete.

Status of pages after editing a shared content block

The following table displays the behaviors of pages that contain the edited or deleted shared content block. The behavior depends on the workflow type that you are using:

Page in status: Standard lifecycle management  Approval before publishing workflow
2 levels of approval before publishing workflow
Draft, Rejected, Unpublished Page is updated and its status set to Draft. Page is updated and its status set to Draft. Page is updated and its status set to Draft.
Draft (newer than published) Page is updated and its status set to Draft (newer than published). Page is updated and its status set to Draft (newer than published). Page is updated and its status set to Draft (newer than published).
Scheduled  Page is updated and its status set to Draft. Page is updated and its status set to Draft, only if you are set as approver. Page is updated and its status set to Draft, only if you are set as second level of approver.
Published Page is updated and its status is still Published. The published version is not updated. The page is saved as Draft (newer than published) and this draft is updated, only if you are set as approver. The published version is not updated. The page is saved as Draft (newer than published) and this draft is updated, only if you are set as approver.
Awaiting approval N/A Page is updated and its status set to Draft, only if you are set as approver. Page is updated and its status set to Draft, only if you are set as first level of approver.
Awaiting publishing N/A N/A  Page is updated and its status set to Draft, only if you are set as second level of approver.


IMPORTANT: Shared content blocks do not have workflow. When you edit a content block, the change is immediately visible on all pages that use the content block.
For more information, see Workflows.

Next steps

+1-888-365-2779
sales@sitefinity.com

Related topics:

Feedback

How useful is this article?

Tell us more

Submit
Your message was successfully sent.

We appreciate your feedback.

Your message could not be sent.

OK