More in this section
Forums / 3.x Pre-release forums (retired) / Question about deleting a project

Question about deleting a project

The forums are in read-only mode. In case that you want to directly contact the Progress Sitefinity team use the support center. In our Google Plus group you can find more than one thousand Sitefinity developers discussing different topics. For the Stack Overflow threads don’t forget to use the “Sitefinity” tag.
2 posts, 0 answered
  1. Josef Rogovsky
    Josef Rogovsky avatar
    39 posts
    Registered:
    04 Sep 2012
    24 Feb 2007
    Link to this post
    I notice that using the "remove" feature doesn't actually delete the folder structure located in the "Sitefinity3.0\WebSites" folder.

    Is this by design?

    I intentionally deleted a project so I could create a new one with the same name and discovered that I had to manually delete the folder for the project before I could recreate it.
  2. Slavo
    Slavo avatar
    13 posts
    Registered:
    21 May 2013
    26 Feb 2007
    Link to this post
    Hi Josef,

    The idea behind the "Remove" action is to be able to delete the project from the Project Manager and the list of virtual directories in IIS, but still have it physically on your drive. This is actually said in the confirmation messagebox that appears when you click "Remove". It does not physically delete the project's directory. If you need to create a new project with the same name, you would have to manually delete the physical directory.

    All the best,
    Slavo
    the telerik team
2 posts, 0 answered