Thank you for contacting Telerik Support, and providing us with this valuable feedback.
You are completely right that this is not the expected behavior - the selection should be saved and displayed to the user if he/she chooses to edit the selection. I have logged this bug with ID#112405, and we'll be working on it. I have updated your Telerik points accordingly.
the Telerik team