More in this section

Forums / Developing with Sitefinity / approval and publishing permission settings for Modules

approval and publishing permission settings for Modules

5 posts, 0 answered
  1. Bart Welch
    Bart Welch avatar
    64 posts
    Registered:
    10 Jul 2009
    06 Nov 2009
    Link to this post
    What setting in permissions allows a role to have permission to approve and publish modules?
  2. SelAromDotNet
    SelAromDotNet avatar
    912 posts
    Registered:
    18 Jul 2012
    06 Nov 2009
    Link to this post
    there should be a setting for Approve and Publish when you go to the permissions for your module. If you do not see these options, make sure that workflow is enabled in web.config for the module you're working with.

    Also, if you are using external templates, make sure that you're not using the community edition ones (I did this by mistake a while back and had the same issue) these templates don't have workflow because it's not available in community edition.

    hope this was helpful!
  3. Ivan Dimitrov
    Ivan Dimitrov avatar
    16072 posts
    Registered:
    12 Sep 2017
    08 Nov 2009
    Link to this post
    Hi SelArom,

    Thank you for your input here. Bart, the workflow works only for content object not for publishing and approving modules. We are publishing and approving content objects.

    Let us know if you need further assistance.

    Greetings,
    Ivan Dimitrov
    the Telerik team

    Instantly find answers to your questions on the new Telerik Support Portal.
    Watch a video on how to optimize your support resource searches and check out more tips on the blogs.
  4. Bart Welch
    Bart Welch avatar
    64 posts
    Registered:
    10 Jul 2009
    09 Nov 2009
    Link to this post
    Ivan,

    For Generice Content (Shared), I am able to approve and publish individual modules.  I have my role set as the administrator, but I have someone that all they need to do is approve and publish content.  The two buttons are grayed out via his log in.  So what permission or change needs to be made so he may approve and publish shared generic content?

    If we where to turn the workflow off for modules, how would it work if a shared generic content piece was changed?  If a piece of shared generic content was changed, would it automatically be published?

    Thanks

    Bart
  5. Ivan Dimitrov
    Ivan Dimitrov avatar
    16072 posts
    Registered:
    12 Sep 2017
    09 Nov 2009
    Link to this post
    Hi Bart Welch,

     The two buttons are grayed out via his log in.  So what permission or change needs to be made so he may approve and publish shared generic content?


    You need to grant the role associated with your users with "Approve" and "Publish" permissions. Please make sure that you have mapped external template PermissionsView.ascx for Generic_Content provider and the following part of it is not commented.

    <!--               
                        ******* Uncomment this block when using workflow ********
                                 
                                <tr>
                                    <th>
                                        <asp:Literal runat="server" Text="<%$Resources:Approve %>"></asp:Literal>
                                    </th>
                                    <td>
                                        <asp:CheckBox ID="allowApprove" Text="<%$Resources:Allow %>" runat="server" onclick="CheckBoxHandler(this, this.parentNode.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('input')[1].id)" />
                                    </td>
                                    <td>
                                        <asp:CheckBox ID="denyApprove" Text="<%$Resources:Deny %>" runat="server" onclick="CheckBoxHandler(this, this.parentNode.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('input')[0].id)" />
                                    </td>
                                </tr><tr>
                                    <th>
                                        <asp:Literal runat="server" Text="<%$Resources:Publish %>"></asp:Literal>
                                    </th>
                                    <td>
                                        <asp:CheckBox ID="allowPublish" Text="<%$Resources:Allow %>" runat="server" onclick="CheckBoxHandler(this, this.parentNode.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('input')[1].id)" />
                                    </td>
                                    <td>
                                        <asp:CheckBox ID="denyPublish" Text="<%$Resources:Deny %>" runat="server" onclick="CheckBoxHandler(this, this.parentNode.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('input')[0].id)" />
                                    </td>
                                </tr>
    -->

    If you have a shared content item that has not been published and your turn off the workflow you will see only the changes applied to the last published version. So if your content item is in status "For Approval" and you turn off the workflow you will not see any modification made over the last version of our content item.

    Greetings,
    Ivan Dimitrov
    the Telerik team

    Instantly find answers to your questions on the new Telerik Support Portal.
    Watch a video on how to optimize your support resource searches and check out more tips on the blogs.
Register for webinar
5 posts, 0 answered