More in this section

Forums / General Discussions / Rollback to create a new version?

Rollback to create a new version?

2 posts, 0 answered
  1. Markus
    Markus avatar
    2763 posts
    Registered:
    25 Nov 2005
    26 Nov 2010
    Link to this post
    Good day to you

    My question concerns the rollback to a previous version in history.

    In 3.7 all newer version would vanish. I always wondered what happend if you rollback 4 version and sent to approval and the editor will tell you only to rollback 2 versions :-)

    Is a rollback in 4.0 creating a new version?

    If not what happen if you rollback to far back?

    Markus
  2. Radoslav Georgiev
    Radoslav Georgiev avatar
    3370 posts
    Registered:
    01 Feb 2016
    29 Nov 2010
    Link to this post
    Hi Markus Berchtold,

    Thank you for using our services.

    You are correct about the rollback behavior in Sitefinity 3.x. This is why we have introduced the Restore button in Sitefinity 3.7 SP2 and in Sitefinity 3.7 SP4 we have made the Restore button visible only and the Rollback button hidden. Restore does not delete versions after the one you have selected to revert to. It just creates a new version equal to the selected one.

    This is also the default behavior of the rollback functionality in 4.0. When you choose to rollback it will create a new version but preserve other versions too. You can give this a try and observe the Revision History of content items or pages.

    Regards,
    Radoslav Georgiev
    the Telerik team
    Do you want to have your say when we set our development plans? Do you want to know when a feature you care about is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking system and vote to affect the priority of the items
2 posts, 0 answered