More in this section

Forums / General Discussions / Upgrade removes files from project / web.config

Upgrade removes files from project / web.config

2 posts, 1 answered
  1. Matt
    Matt avatar
    56 posts
    Registered:
    20 Nov 2009
    01 Dec 2010
    Link to this post
    Every time I do an upgrade, I lose all of my custom file references in the project file and all of my web.config customizations.  Is this the expected behavior, or am I doing something wrong?

    Thanks,
    Matt

  2. Radoslav Georgiev
    Radoslav Georgiev avatar
    3370 posts
    Registered:
    01 Feb 2016
    02 Dec 2010
    Link to this post
    Hi Matt,

    Thank you for using our services.

    You are not doing anything wrong. What the upgrade does is to create a backup file of your existing web.config (web.config.backup.exclude) and adds a new one. What you can do is to use a merge tool to merge differences in files. Unfortunately the upgrade does not yet have the functionality to compare the web.config files and automatically merge differences.

    Best wishes,
    Radoslav Georgiev
    the Telerik team
    Do you want to have your say when we set our development plans? Do you want to know when a feature you care about is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking system and vote to affect the priority of the items
    Answered
2 posts, 1 answered