+1-888-365-2779
Try Now
More in this section

Forums / Deployment / Template duplication when moving from development server

Template duplication when moving from development server

3 posts, 0 answered
  1. Richard Baugh
    Richard Baugh avatar
    201 posts
    Registered:
    22 Aug 2012
    28 Sep 2007
    Link to this post
    On a few occasions I have had the templates somewhat duplicate themselves when moving my site from development server to a production server. On the production server I have uploaded the master file through the admin section and chose a different name for the template compared to the actual master filename. When we moved the site to the production server, the templates that I created are there, but it there are also templates that are created for each of the master files using the filename. This isn't as much of a problem as I can delete these without any problem.

    I have however also uploaded the master file through Sitefinity and used the same name as the master file. In this case when I have experienced the duplicating templates, it can be a pain when trying to delete the duplicate templates. In order to remove them, I must change the name of the duplicate template so that I can then go back and remove them.

    I didn't see anything about this on any of the posts, so I appologize if this has already been reported and a solution answered. I can't say that it happens all of the time but I have noticed it on a few occasions. I also think I have seen this same behavior when an application pool has recycled itself when requesting a page or an error occured on the appilcation pool. I will try to pay attention to the steps the next time I encounter this problem.
  2. Vassil Daskalov
    Vassil Daskalov avatar
    261 posts
    Registered:
    18 May 2013
    02 Oct 2007
    Link to this post
    Hi Richard,

    Which version of Sitefinity are you using? This issues has been fixed for 3.0 SP2 release. Actually, here is how the templates mechanism works:

    When the provider is initialized, i.e. when the application is started, it checks all the templates in the database against the master pages located in the App_Master folder (without the Dummy.master file). For each master file, if it finds that no template is using it and no template has the name of the master file, it creates a new template in the database with the name of the master page file.

    Best wishes,
    Vassil Daskalov
    the Telerik team

    Instantly find answers to your questions at the new Telerik Support Center
  3. Richard Baugh
    Richard Baugh avatar
    201 posts
    Registered:
    22 Aug 2012
    02 Oct 2007
    Link to this post
    I believe this was on SP1 or just 3.0 versions. All of our SP2 sites are still in development phase.

    I am glad to see that this has been fixed. I wasn't sure if anyone had caught this before so I wanted to bring it to your attention.

    Thanks for the response. I am glad someone else noticed.
Register for webinar
3 posts, 0 answered