The current workflow state will be saved as it is (awaiting approval or rejected).
When someone tries to approve them or reject and the new workflow has been applied they will be approved or rejected following the rules form the new workflow.
If the workflow customization changes the workflow activities regarding the send for approval conditions there may be some problems so I suggest testing the new workflow on a backup of the project first.
All the best,
the Telerik team
Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking
system and vote to affect the priority of the items